Friday Book Review (it has been a while)

Summer is on its way. A time of wildness and freedom. This is a book that makes me think of summer. The possibility of adventure humming in the air, that chaotic energy about to break loose.

“Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs is a fantastical book series about a hidden world of oddities that live alongside the world of “normals.” Jacob Portman is one of these normals, until his beloved grandfather dies under mysterious circumstances. At his psychiatrists advice to lay his past to rest, Jacob goes to the remote island of Cairnholm, where his grandfather lived in his childhood. However, once on the island, things become peculiar, and his grandfathers wild stories about children with strange powers and an old bird that watched over them become more than just stories. Get caught up in the world of peculiardom in this thrilling 6 book series with vintage photos that help tell the story of the peculiars.

Book List (In Order)

  1. “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”
  2. Hollow City
  3. Library of Souls
  4. A Map of Days
  5. The Conference of the Birds
  6. The Desolations of Devil’s Acre

I found this song “New World Coming” when the movie for this book series was first coming out. I was so enthralled by the enchanting beauty of the song that I decided to read the books. It turned out to be one of my all time favorite book series. The movie was a disappointment in my opinion, but the marvelous story in the books more than makes up for the movies failure.

(YouTube video of the song “New World Coming” sung by DISA)

About Curtis Decker

Happy to be here and to open the library to all in need. I love talking about stories, drawing, farming, and hiking. Come in for books, conversations, and to share in the atmosphere of our historic small town library. A magical place of stories and wonder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.